Situated in the Historic Town of Ilchester, The Ilchester Arms is a charming Grade II listed building built in the late 18th century with later extensions & yet it maintains many character features. First licensed in 1786 the hotel was originally known as The George Tavern, was the favourite haunt of Llewellen Powys, the writer. In 1894 The George became a drapers shop run by Eli Wilson & Son until 1925 when a fire destroyed the drapery stock & shop fittings.  The building then became The Ivelchester Hotel until 1995 when it became The Ilchester Arms. From 1962-1985 Mr Ken Seaton owned the hotel & in the cellars is where he first started experimenting with combining cheese with chives, beer & a blend of spices. This & other blended cheeses are to this day manufactured & distributed by the Ilchester Cheese Company (now known as Norseland).  


Ilchester is a village in South Somerset situated on the River Yeo, five miles north of Yeovil. During Roman times the village was named Lindinis & was the site of a fort & then a town on the Fosse Way.

The village has a nursery, 2 pre-schools, an infant school & a junior school. There is a Post Office offering a range of food products, stationary, sweets, cards, free cash withdrawals). A flower & gift shop (Just Maria’s), a couple of pubs including The Bull Inn (also owned by Lucy & Brendan) open 7 days a week 4pm-late. A petrol station with shop